He Loves Me…

HE LOVES ME…

“He loves me, he loves me not. He loves me…”

The teenager was pacing on the sidewalk, tearing apart daisies and leaving a trail of white petals.

What to do, what to do? Go home and pretend nothing happened or pound at his door and confront him about the kiss?

“He loves me, he loves me not. He loves me, he loves me not.”

The fistful of flowers in Riley’s hand was now only a bouquet of stems. What now? There was still no answer to what was supposed to be the next step.

Turning the corner, the desperate teen found beautiful sunflowers growing from the side of a brick wall. A quick smile drew across thin lips as a hand lunged forward to grab one.

“He loves me, he loves me not. He loves me…”

Word count : 136
Image : Sonya, author of Only 100 Words.
Story writing for the 50th Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers (FFfAW), a weekly challenge hosted by Priceless Joy to write a ±100-150 word story based on a picture.
For more stories, visit this link!

15 comments

  1. How cute! I love this! I hope she/he finds out that he loves her/him! We use to do this as kids too. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hope Riley knows the answer before she runs out of sunflowers too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Some kisses do lead to these sorts of questions. Poor sunflowers 😦
    Ellespeth

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nothing like putting off the moment when they’ll next meet and all will be revealed 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This bought back lovely memories of doing this exact thing with petals. Thanks for a great read.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. amymorrisjones

    I remember doing this same thing–searching for another flower when I didn’t get the answer I really wanted. You capture that well!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I wonder how many flowers she’ll get through before she finds an answer! A sweet story, Alixa. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

