Remember

REMEMBER

Do you remember the day you heard of this coastal city, hidden beyond mountains, where everyone is welcome? Do you remember what they said? That the sand was softer than any silk, the water was warmer than any kiss, the sun was brighter than anywhere else.

Do you remember how you went through hell and back? And how they looked at you as if you were wounded? You knew things would never be the same.

And so, you escaped, taking this grand journey towards this city that bred no misery.

Finally, you are here. You can see your havenΒ just beyond this path. You keep going with a steady pace until you reach your destination, singing with every step you take :

Never
Look at the sky
And wonder
If angels can fly
In this world
Where nothing
Seems to be
What it seems
To me

Never
Look at the sky
And wonder
What it would be to say good-bye
Just remember…

Looks like this is my 10th participation to the FFfAW (already!!) Again, I can’t thank enough Priceless Joy for hosting this challenge! I’ve met wonderful people here and I am enjoying every story written and read!
A little background for this one : I was inspired by a song by Sarah Blaine (Never Get to Heaven) and started singing in my shower this morning this little song above (with an open ending – though I have my own, because I love open endings!) My story was supposed to be all happy and jolly about travelling and finally reaching destination, but it looks like it took a slightly different path! Hope you enjoyed πŸ™‚ – Alixa

Word count :Β 162
Image : TJ Paris, author of La vie est trop courte pour boire du mauvais vin.
Story writing for the 53rd Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers (FFfAW), a weekly challenge hosted by Priceless Joy to write a Β±100-150 word story based on a picture.
For more stories, visit this link!

23 comments

  1. I like that he found haven.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Has he found Utopia? πŸ™‚ Nice story! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is wonderful, Alixa! I love that he made it through hell and back and is in the place where there is no misery. I also love the song that he is singing! Wonderful!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Woah!!! First of all, your story is great! I love the hell and back part because it felt so real! And… what I found really fascinating is that we have the same title. πŸ™‚ My response for this prompt is also titled ‘Remember’. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love a story that gets me thinking and leaves me wondering, and this one certainly did!

    ‘The Homecoming’ for FFfAW!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is touchingly beautiful. So very well crafted.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

