I Believe I Can Fly

I BELIEVE I CAN FLY

This is going to be a hard one, Jacob thought as he raced swiftly to the top of the scaffolding along with three other boys. Their friendship was somewhat toxic, he knew it; they kept encouraging each other to do the most stupid and dangerous deeds, as if to prove something to each other. That was also why he loved them so much; they were his very best friends.

When the boys finally reached the top, they looked down and laughed. There were so many people gathered down below just to watch them. They seemed so small they could crush them with their fists. Jacob liked the feeling of being so high, the wind flowing through his hair. For a moment, he thought that if he just let go, he could fly.

That’s when Adam lost his grip and fell. Screams started rising from below, followed by sirens a few moments later.

Word count : 152
Image : Ellespeth’s friend.
Story writing for the 54th Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers (FFfAW), a weekly challenge hosted by Priceless Joy to write a ±100-150 word story based on a picture.
For more stories, visit this link!

39 comments

  1. Lots of people do silly things when they’re young and get away with it. Sadly, sometimes it ends in tragedy.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great story! It shows how young people can be so foolish and how it can end in tragedy. So sad that Adam lost his grip and fell but hopefully the other boys climbed down safely. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is just so apt…youngsters really can do dangerously foolish things, not realizing the consequences until it’s too late! Great story! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My mom always said that it’s a miracle any of us make it out of childhood or adolescence alive. A sad tale, but realistic.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Young bucks displaying unnecessary bravado. Construction work is dangerous. There’s no room for horseplay. Sad, what youth does. Strong writing …
    Isadora 😎

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for reading and taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it! 🙂 The world is a playground to the eyes of some, just can’t be reckless if you wanna enjoy it as long as possible.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Sadly they never learn. I’m sure I was just as foolish when was young, but I somehow got away with it. Excellent tale.

    Visit Keith’s Ramblings!

    Liked by 1 person

    • We all did stupid things, but we all lived to tell about it! Thank you, glad you enjoyed!

      I absolutely loved your take on the prompt, great way to see things differently. Unfortunately, I do not have a Blogspot account and couldn’t leave feedback.

      Like

  7. Oh my that would traumatizing for Adam’s friends and well, an awful way to die. I guess Jacob doesn’t feel like he can fly so much anymore. A terrible but effective way to learn “you’re not invincible.” Great write!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I can just see boys egging each other on and enjoying being the spectacle!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. It was bound to happen.
    Great story.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. As the parent of two boys, things like this just make me shiver. Kids come up with such crazy ideas!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I see we kinda went down the same route. I remember my brother and I climbing out on the scaffolding when they were doing some work on the roof – the madness… Great story!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. DannyFenton123

    This was a really good little tale. I can totally imagine something like this happening, and it’s so tragic.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I knew it, I knew that someone would fall by the end of the story! 🙂 I just thought that it would be the protagonist, especially when he spoke about flying. P.S. I admire your ability to write short prose! Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. madilynquinn01

    Ah, that’s unfortunate! See, this is why you should climb things. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Boys!!! Always managing to get into scrapes.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. “Their friendship was somewhat toxic,” What a great illustration of a toxic friendship

    Liked by 1 person

  17. That ending…I should’ve seen that coming. That’s so tragic…a toxic friendship indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

